Spotlight on The Eastside Extra and Unicorns of the Secret Stable


Today, LitNuts is shining a spotlight on two great series for children from the Jolly Fish Press imprint of North Star Editions! Read on to learn more about The Eastside Extra series and the Unicorns of the Secret Stable series.

BONUS: Get your holiday shopping done early with books for children and young adults from North Star Editions. Send your holiday gift book wish list directly to and get a 30% discount by mentioning LitNuts! Offer good now through December 31, 2022. 

The Eastside Extra (Set of 4)
Anika, Benny, and Libby are neighborhood friends—and known to be relentlessly curious. They’re always asking questions, and their interest in sharing the answers led them to start an online newsletter. Encouraged by their parents, they venture out into the community to investigate the most engaging mysteries. This series is available as a set or individually. Reading Age: from 8 to 10 years.
The Eastside Extra: How Did We Get Here?
A chance question about Libby’s door decoration leads the friends to realize they’re all from immigrant families. This discovery prompts their next big questions: Where are our families from? Why and how did they come to the United States? As the friends learn their families’ histories and deal with upsetting news about Anika’s stay in the country, they vow to cherish what brings them together.
The Eastside Extra: Still Serving 
Why does someone who could be retired choose to still work? Between popsicle breaks and jumps in the pool, this simple question leads the friends all around their community as they explore the facts and personal stories of veterans.
The Eastside Extra: Public Funding, Public Decisions
Eastside Middle School is facing challenges as a result of its growing student body. When Anika, Benny, and Libby learn the school is getting extra funding this year, they know they have the topic for their next feature story: Who decides how public schools spend their money? And where does the money come from?
The Eastside Extra: Why is Our Lake Off-Limits? 
Anika, Benny, and Libby live a short drive from a small lake, but they’ve never been swimming in it. It’s closed off as a “Superfund” site, a mysterious phrase they’ve never heard before, leading the friends to interview their neighbors and explore their community’s history.
Unicorns of the Secret Stable Series
There are unicorns behind Magic Moon Stable, but no one except Iris and Ruby knows they exist. As Unicorn Guardians, it is their job to protect the unicorns and their magic to keep them safe from the outside world. The books in this series are available in the sets shown below or as individual titles. Reading age: from 6 to 9 years. 
Unicorns of the Secret Stable, Set 1
This set includes four books: The Red Key, Stolen Magic, Unicorn Uncovered, and Heartsong's Missing Foal

"Die-hard unicorn fans’ hearts will sing." ~School Library Journal 
Unicorns of the Secret Stable, Set 2
This set includes four books: The Great Unicorn Race, Shadow Stallion, Starberry Magic, and Unique Unicorn

Author Whitney Sanderson grew up riding horses as a member of a 4-H club and competing in local jumping and dressage shows.
Unicorns of the Secret Stable, Set 3
This set includes four books: Mermaid Magic, Magical Unicorn Horns, Lucky and the Dragon, and Unicorns to the Rescue.

"Adding unicorns, sister power, and a generous dose of magic to the thoughtful design makes this series ideal for all collections." ~School Library Journal

Older Post Newer Post